Since 1826, this Greek Revival style granite structure has been serving the public from daily retail food supply of meat, produce and dairy goods to the wholesale role at a later time.
The marketâ€™s proper name is always Faneuil Hall Market, as requested by the second mayor of Boston Mayor Josiah Quincy, even though he is the one who devised the whole plan and implemented it despite of all issues. Itâ€™s not until 1989 when the gilded â€œQuincy Marketâ€ sign was put on the porticoes to commemorate the mayorâ€™s contribution.
Quincy Market actually comprises of three buildings â€“ Quincy Market at the center and flanked by South Market and North market. They were built at the same time in the 1820s to cope with the overcrowded Faneuil Hall.
Today, Quincy Market has turned into a festival marketplace where you can find colonnade eateries, lots of shops, pushcarts along the side of the buildings and street performers. All these make Quincy Market a popular place for locals to hang out and relax, and tourists to experience the historic town of Boston.